Penne, Artichokes & Sun Dried Tomatos in Basil Pesto

The first time that I tasted this dish I was at a greek restarant in New York City. I wish that I could remember it’s name, but I can’t. All that I can remember is that it was in spitting distance of West 4th St & 6th Ave – right down the street from what used to be Sean’s Tattoo Shop (where my old friend Shamrock used to work). Anyway, it was nothing short of amazing. I used to go back to this place to order this particualr dish at least once a week – even if it meant eating at the restarant alone (and that was no small thing for a 21 year old girl, I assure you). It didn’t take me long to create my own idiot proof version, however it HAS taken several years to perfect it. Well, at least *I* think it’s perfect. Feel free to try it and see for yourself…

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Penne Pasta
  • 1 cup sundried tomatoes
  • 1 can artichichoke hearts, drained & chopped
  • 1 cup basil pesto (jarred is fine unless you prefer to make it yourself)
  • 1 tbs kosher salt, divided
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese

Directions

  1. Bring a medium size pot of water to a rolling boil.
  2. Add the 1/2 tbs of the salt, penne, artichoke hearts, and sun dried tomatoes and cook until the pasta is aldente. (about 9 minutes) on med/high heat.
  3. Drain and set aside.
  4. Reduce heat to low. Add the olive oil, pesto, and 1/2 tsp of salt. Cook for one minute and remove from heat.
  5. Return pasta/artichokes/sundried tomatoes to the pan and toss until evenly coated
  6. Transfer to a serving dish (or individual plates) and sprinkle with the goat cheese.
  7. Serve immediately.

You can add grilled chicken to this if you want to. Sometimes I do that too, but it’s not necessary at all. It’s amazing as is!

Leave a Reply

