Grilled Crab Cakes with Mango Salsa

I made these a few weeks ago. We started a new tradition at our house. We call it Seafood Sundays. We invited our friends Christy and Nate over and I made my first ever attempt at crab cakes. On the grill! They came out fantastic. Nate, who told me that he loves crab cakes and eats them frequently, said that they were some of the best he ever had. Everyone else loved them too. They flew off the serving platter and into our bellies.  I adapted a recipe that I found in Weber’s Real Grilling. The best part about these is that you can make them many hours ahead and leave them in the fridge to set until you’re ready to grill them. That sort of recipe is always welcome around here because it allows me to do the prep work while Cami is napping.  I served them as a starter followed by grilled lobster tails, snap peas, rice pilaf, and grilled corn. It was an amazing meal!

Grilled Crab Cakes

  • 4 Cans bumblebee select lump crab meat
  • 1 cup panko or plain bread crumbs (i used panko)
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup mayo (i used helman’s made with olive oil)
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp tobasco sauce
  • 1/2 tsp kosher saly
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Drain the crab meat and put it in a large mixing bowl. Flake gently with a fork. Add all other ingredients and mix together. Form into 2 inch cakes and let sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes (but up to 6 hours).

Preheat grill and grill over high heat for 5 minutes per side. Serve with lemon wedges and mango salsa.

2 responses to “Grilled Crab Cakes with Mango Salsa

  1. I just found you on here via your split chicken breast recipe. I’ve been trying to cook more with split chicken breast since it tends to go on sale here for .99 a pound. Plus it’s tastier in my opinion then the boneless, skinless version.
    Anyway if you don’t care I would love to add you to my wordpress page so I can find you again easily.
    Come visit my blog if you would like. I also have easy, mom friendly recipes posted. 🙂
    Little Frugalista

Leave a Reply

